I am a crazy nerd.

Today I did something kind of crazy and definitely extremely nerdy.  For those of you that don’t know me personally, I am a lawyer, so that in itself should tell you I am a nerd.  A busy, busy nerd who works a lot.  Today, however, I signed up for a “continuing education” literature class at a nearby university.  Nerdy nerd nerd!  I know.  I’m sorry I LOVE SCHOOL.  I’m good at school.  Less so at life.

Back to school, back to school, to prove to Daddy I’m not a fool.  It starts at the beginning of September and goes every Monday evening for 10 weeks.  I SO do not have time for this.  BUT, I’m kind of hoping it’s one of those things where you’re more efficient when you’re busy?  Yeah, let’s go with that.  Also, I’m totally screwed if they try to make me write papers.  I’m not interested in that.  Basically, I’m just trying to pay to be in a book club.

Aaaanways, we’ll see.  The class is called Memory, Desire and the Fantastic.  That’s kind of sexy and less nerdy right?  Here is my reading list.  Let me know if you have any feedback/insight on any of these!

1.  The Master and the Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov (this has been on my reading list for years!)

2.  By Night in Chile – Roberto Bolano

3.  Time Regained – Marcel Proust

4.  The Counterlife – Phillip Roth

5.  Atomised – Michele Houllebecq

I’m pumped if not preemptively overwhelmed.  Time to get a new notebook!  (Gah, I really can’t help the nerdiness.)  Can’t show up with a legal pad like an idiot!!

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “I am a crazy nerd.

  1. Sounds like fun and you’ve got some good writers there! I haven’t attempted Proust, Roth or any of the others, but maybe one day…

Leave a Reply

